4 virtual piano lesson benefits for kids

A good friend of mine told me that she thinks kids waste their time learning music and piano because they eventually quit. I found it interesting because I never view piano lessons as a waste of time.

It is true that kids may quit piano lessons at some point and they may have negative experiences with it. But it is more important for children to have musical training background because there are so many benefits for kids who take piano lessons. With piano lessons through Skype, students get the same benefits as the traditional lessons and other great advantages.

 

1. Develop independence and discipline

As a mom, I want my kids to be independent and disciplined. Learning piano through Skype or FaceTime allows students to pay more attention to the teacher’s instructions and to apply it by themselves. They develop independence because the teacher is not physically sitting next to them.

Regular practicing can be a challenge for pianists, but it is so essential for improvements and developing discipline. As parents become involved in children’s daily practice, they are more likely to develop the consistency. It helps students to practice on their own and be disciplined.

2. Raise their IQ

Who doesn’t want their kids to be smart? A research in Canada shows piano lessons stimulate children’s brains and raise their IQ. Kids that take music lessons have 2.7 percent higher IQ than the ones don’t take music lessons. That’s impressive!

Higher IQ helps children to perform better academically, and they are more likely to do well in school and in other activities. The music resources on the internet give the student extra musical training and practice. It accelerates the learning process and effectiveness.

3. Prepare for the future

I still remember when I was in elementary school and the computer was brand new and unpopular. It only took a few decades to change the world with new technology. Now, literally everything we do involves technology. We can prepare our children for the future– the technological world. Virtual piano lessons provide a gateway for kids to explore the technological world through music and piano, and it has so much more to offer than traditional piano lessons. Virtual piano lessons include apps and online music learning tools that are fun for children.

4. Be well-rounded

Students develop a new skill as they study music and piano and it helps them explore different talents that they might have. Even though piano might not be their natural talent, they will become more well-rounded  as they study piano. With virtual piano lessons, students from all around the world can learn piano from teachers who might live far away from them or in another country. It is fun to learn about different cultures and walks of life through piano lessons.

 

8 thoughts on “4 virtual piano lesson benefits for kids

  1. This is great! I definitely want to put my kids in piano lessons. You really know what you’re talking about! Thanks for sharing. Excited to continue to follow your blog.

    Like

  2. I was one of those kids that hated piano lessons, and begged my mom stop making me go. I look at it now and wish that I had just stuck with it. Despite having quit while I was young, I did learn a lot of different things. Great article!

    Like

  3. I think this is awesome. I kind of wish my parents had put me in piano lessons when I was younger. My mom was always worried though, because she had taken my older brother to piano lessons and he was so upset after the first lesson that he cried. How would you approach parents who are worried about things like that.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your question. I think there’s a lot to do with the piano teacher. If I were his teacher, I would have the parent stay and observe the lesson. I will make sure that the student has fun in the lesson. Also, communications between parents and teacher are very important. I email the parent after every lesson to make sure we are on the same page. If there’s any issue at all, the parent can notify me. I use games and iPad apps in the lesson to add some variety to it. I hope that answer your question.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

